Chief Timipre Sylva

Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari has ordered the country’s Minister for Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva to resign before or by Monday, May 16, 2022.

Chief Timipre is among a number of Ministers in Buhari’s administration who have expressed interest in contesting for political office as Governors or Presidential candidates ahead of the West African nation’s elections in 2023.

The President’s directive was issued through the country’s Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, on Wednesday after the Federal Executive Council meeting.

The directive was in line with Section 84(12) of Nigerian Electoral Act 2022, which states that no political appointee at any level shall be a voting delegate or be voted for at Congress.

As at the time of filing this report, Niger Delta Affairs Minister , Obong Godswill; Mr Emeka Nwajiuba, Minister of State for Education; Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi and Minister of Science and Technology Ogbonnaya Onu have resigned.






Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here