Organisers of African Oil week, Hyve Group Plc, says over 57 percent of countries have pledged the attendance of their Ministers of Energy or Petroleum or government leaders at this year’s programme scheduled for Dubai, UEA, from November 8-11.

So far, a host of ministers and former presidents who have confirmed their participation include Mauritania, Ghana, Namibia, Kenya, Burkina Faso, Mali, ROC and DRC.

This year’s event will also see in attendance leading CEOs of oil and gas firms, including Patrick Pouyanné, CEO of Total Energies, Rahul Dhir, CEO of Tullow Oil and Mark Heine, CEO of Fugro.

The organisers of Africa Oil Week have been criticised for moving Africa’s flagship oil and gas event to Dubai.

A former Secretary General of African Petroleum Producers Association, H.E Mahaman Laouan Gaya described the decision by the organisers as a sign of poor leadership.

“Africans need to know that our dignity should not be given away. This is a clear sign of poor leadership. Africa will not reach its global potential if we continue to see supposedly investment promotion-focused organisations abandoning the continent at the smallest challenge,” H.E Mahaman Laouan Gaya said recently.

“The African Oil Industry is at the cross roads, and going into COP26, we need to have an African agenda on energy transition and energy poverty. These discussions cannot be had in Dubai. African Petroleum Producers and other energy producers should distance themselves from this initiative of taking Africans to Dubai,” he further added.

Equatorial Guinean Minister for Mines and Hydrocarbons, H.E Gabriel M. Obiang Lima also recently took on the organisers and warned IOCs operating in the Central African country not to participate in the event.

He urged his fellow ministers and other industry stakeholders to cancel their participation in the Dubai initiative.

However, his appeal seems to have fallen on deaf ears as majority of the continent’s Energy Ministers have confirmed their participation in the upcoming event.

In a press statement, Hyve Group Plc, organisers of Africa Oil Week, announced that it has signed a three-year deal with the CTICC in Cape Town, for the hosting of the Africa Oil Week and Future Energy Series in 2022 and beyond.

This, according to them, is reaffirmation of their long-term commitment to the continent.

Commenting on the new development, South Africa’s Tourism Minister, Mmamoloko Kubayi-Ngubane said: “I am delighted with the news that from 2022, Hyve Group will be hosting Africa Oil Week and Future Energy Series Africa in South Africa for the following three years and beyond.

“It is worthy to note the continued commitment of Africa Oil Week to the social and economic development of South Africa and the wider Pan African community. The event has put Africa at the heart of every decision, and we are proud to call Africa Oil Week partners of Africa in every sense of the term.

“The opportunities for international visitors remain as strong as ever and we very much look forward to welcoming all delegates once again for a safe and inspired visit to our beautiful country.”

Below are some of the Ministers who have confirmed their participation in the AOW:

Hon. Yonis Ali Guedi
Minister of Energy
Republic of Djibouti

Hon. Bachir Ismael
Minister of Energy
Republic of Burkina Faso

Hon. Matthew Opoku Prempeh
Minister of Energy
Republic of Ghana

Hon. Fafa Sanyang
Minister of Energy & Petroleum
Republic of Gambia

Hon. Lamine Seydou Traore
Minister of Energy & Water
Republic of Mali

Hon. John Munyes
Cabinet Secretary
Ministry of Petroleum & Mining
Republic of Kenya

Hon. Timothy Kabba
Minister of Mineral Resources
Republic of Sierra Leone

Hon. Abdirashid Ahmed Mohamed
Minister of Petroleum & Mineral Resources
Federal Republic of Somalia

Hon. Bruno Jean Richard Itoua
Minister of Hydrocarbons
Republic of the Congo

Hon. Dr. Koang Tutlam
State Minister of Mines, Petroleum & Natural Gas
Republic of Ethiopia

H.E. Samou Seidou Adambi
Minister of Water & Mines
Republic of Benin

Hon. Tom Alweendo
Minister of Mines and Energy
Republic of Namibia

H.E. Abdesselam Ould Mohamed Saleh
Minister of Petroleum, Mines and Energy

Hon. Dr. Alexandre Dias Monteiro
Minister of Industry
Trade and Energy, Cape Verde

Hon. Didier Budimbu Ntubuanga
Minister of Hydrocarbons

Hon. Minister Rufin Benam-Beltoungou
Minister of Mines, Energy and Hydraulics
Central African Republic

H.E. Houmed M’Saidie
Minister of Economy,Investments and Energy of the Union of Comoro

Hon. Thomas Camara
Minister of Petroleum, Energy and Renewable Energies
Republic of Cote d’Ivoire

National Oil Companies & Regulators:

Proscovia Nabbanja
Ag. Chief Executive Officer
Uganda National Oil Company,
Republic of Uganda

Hon. Francis Gatare
Chief Executive Officer
Rwanda Mining Petroleum & Gas Board,
Republic of Rwanda

Ms. Asha Omar
Chair,Somalia Petroleum Authority,
Federal Republic of Somalia

Foday Mansaray
Director General
Petroleum Directorate of Sierra Leone,
Republic of Sierra Leone

Watch the National Energy Showcase

Maixent Raoul Ominga
SNPC, Republic of Congo

Atty. Saifuah-Mai Gray
Chief Executive Officer
NOCAL, Republic of Liberia

Jerreh Barrow
Commissioner for Petroleum
Ministry of Petroleum & Energy, Republic of Gambia

Dr. Solomon Kassa
Director for Petroleum Exploration
Ministry of Mines & Petroleum, Republic of Ethiopia

Boayam Michel
Director General
SHT, Republic of Chad

Issifou Moussa Yari
Managing Director
SNH, Republic of Benin

Mr. Famourou Kourouma
Director General
ONAP, Republic of Guinea

Alem Kibreab
Director General
Department of Mines at the Ministry of Energy and Mines, Eritrea

Hon. Archie Donmo
Director General
Liberia Petroleum Regulatory Authority,
Republic of Liberia

Leparan Gideon Morintat
Chief Executive Officer
NOC Kenya, Republic of Kenya

Maggy Shino
Petroleum Commissioner
Ministry of Mines & Energy, Republic of Namibia

Mr. Hubert Miyimi
Managing Director Sonahydro

Amina Benkhadra
General Director
ONHYM, Morocco

Arabey Hashi Abdi
Director General
MOPMR, Federal Republic of Somalia

Mr. JJ Koum
Adviser n°2 of the Executive General Manager, National Hydrocarbons Corporation (SNH)
Republic of Cameroon

Dr. Serge Edouard Angoua Biouele
Exploration Manager, National Hydrocarbons Corporation (SNH)
Republic of Cameroon

Mr. Ernest N.T. Rubondo
Chief Executive Officer PAU
Republic of Uganda

Mr. Teklehaimanot Debretsion
DG Hydrocarbons
Republic of Eritrea



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here