Ghana: IPPs Chamber Inaugurates Governing Board

Members of the Governing Board of CIPDiB in a group photograph

The Chamber of Independent Power Producers, Bulk Distributors and Consumers (CIPDiB) in the West African country, Ghana, has inaugurated a 15- member governing board to oversee to the well-being of the chamber and the growth of the power sector.

The board will be chaired by Togbe Afede XIV, who is the President of the National House of Chiefs and Director of Sunon Asogli Power (Ghana Limited), operators of the Sunon Asogli Thermal Power Station at Kpone, near Tema.

Other members are renowned economist and former Chairman of the Public Utilities Regulatory Commission (PURC), Mr Kwame Pianim; the Director of Cenpower Generations, Nana Sam Brew- Butler; the Chairman of Sunon Asogli Power Ghana Limited, Mr Qun Yang; a board member of Early Power Limited, Mr Reginald France, the CEO of the Volta Aluminium Company Limited (VALCO), Mr Daniel Acheampong, the Managing Director of B5 Plus Limited, Mr Bhavesh Kumar; the Country Director of Aksa Energy, Mr Murat Captug; the Managing Director of BXC, Mr Kelvin Wu, and the Country Manager of Karpowership, Mr Volkan Buyukbicer.

The rest are the CEO of CENIT Power, Mr Victor Noja; the Managing Director of Enclave Power, Mr Norbert Anku, and a former Commissioner of the PURC, Mr David Kwadzo Ametefe.

Speaking after the inauguration of the board, Togbe Afede called for commitment on the part of members and other stakeholders to address the power challenges in the country.

“As the chairman of this board, I call on all who matter to serve the national interest by working hard and diligently to give the country stable power,” he said.

He said the wealth of knowledge that members of the board possess would be put to good use to support the government’s agenda of providing reliable power for all citizens.

He underscored the need for capacity building and leveraging appropriate technology as key requirements for a robust energy sector.Some industry players who witnessed the inauguration of CIPDiB Board were Mr Ebenezer Baiden, General Manager in charge of Regulatory and Governance Affairs at the ECG and Dr Isaac Adjei Doku, Director of Commercial Services at the Volta River Authority (VRA).

Mr Ebenezer Baiden, on his part, commended the chamber for bringing together key stakeholders in the power sector.He described the setting up of the chamber as timely, especially when there was an urgent need for stronger collaboration to overcome the challenges in the power sector.

On his part, Dr Isaac Adjei Doku said the contribution of IPPs to the power sector was immense and necessary for national development.

“The VRA views IPPs as collaborators, rather than competitors in power generation. We shall continue to work together to address the power challenges,” Mr Doku said.

CEO of CIPDiB, Elikplim Apetorgbor











Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here